Posted by: Joe Eds | June 2, 2010

10 Years Ago…

Few films, and I mean literally a few, have made me laugh harder than Best In Show. I had not seen This is Spinal Tap or Waiting for Guffman and not familiar with the Christopher Guest troupe when I first saw Show in 2000, and man was that film a revelation for me. There is a laugh in every single scene (and sometimes three or four). It also was the breakout performance for Glee star Jane Lynch, one of the biggest names in TV now (and recently got married to her partner). This scene never ceases to put me in stitches.

Another favorite is when we meet the “catalog couple” Micheal Hitchcock and Parker Posey. “Now I’m a big chai tea latte soy milk kind of guy.” The older I get and the more couples that resemble this team, the more this scene becomes pitch perfect.

However, for many this was the film that gave us a glimpse at the sense of humor of Fred Willard. And the world was never the same again.

Leave a Reply

Categories

