Posted by: Joe Eds | May 20, 2010

10 Years Ago…

Fall of 2000 I had just entered my sophomore year of college and I had fallen deeply in love…

with the film Almost Famous. Falling in love with books, films, pieces of music is not so different from falling in love with people, much of it has to do with timing. This movie caught my attention at a certain point of transition in my life. And while this film has flaws for sure, it’s a very important piece of art for me. I saw it four times in a theater (ok, six). Bought the soundtrack soon after. Dove into the music of that period head first. Led Zeppelin’s “Tangerine” soon became the most played song on my computer.

My favorite scenes have changed over the years, but the one that’s by far the best is the “uncool” phone call between William and Lester Bangs toward the end (below). The mentor teaching his pupil one final lesson. The emotionally worn out kid seeking help. It’s the scene of the movie.

Leave a Reply

Categories

