Posted by: Joe Eds | May 4, 2010

Summer Movies 2010 – Joe’s Slate

The Summer film season officially kicks off this Friday with Iron Man 2 hitting screens all over this great land of ours.  It’ll be the biggest movie this year, and the biggest not in 3-D. I enjoyed Iron Man. Will likely go see the sequel (but not run to it). Below are the big five movies I’m looking forward to this summer. I should note that The Adjustment Bureau, with Matt Damon, would have been on here but it was recently pushed to the Fall.  Before the list here is a primer of big movies this summer I have zero interest in seeing:  Prince of Persia, Sex 2, Get Him to the Greek, Grown Ups, Knight and Day, Twilight.

5. Robin Hood (05/14) – Every single piece of advertising, clip, tv spot, trailer and cast interview basically tell us the same story: This movie should be called Gladiator II.  So, it loses points for slapping a familiar character on a familiar story structure, however it’s a period action movie with bows and arrows, sword fights, big battles and evil British guys. I’m in.

4. Despicable Me (07/09) – I’m not holding my breath for Shrek 4, but I have a funny feeling this could be the animated comedy to see this summer much like the first Shrek in 2001. This one also has many, many famous voices (Steve Carell, Jason Segel, Will Arnett, Julie Andrews).

3. Scott Pilgrim Vs. The World (08/13) – I’m over Michael Cera. OVER. In fact the entire genre of the “Early 20’s White Guy Slacker discovering love while throwing out random pop culture references” has tired me out. Maybe it’s because I’m turning 30 next year, maybe it’s because I’m married. I’m not sure. But I’ve had my fill. Having said that, I am looking forward to Pilgrim because of the two following words:  Edgar. Wright. Shaun of the Dead and Hot Fuzz are both great parodies of well-known genres and with Pilgrim it looks like Wright is returning to what made him famous:  Spaced.  If you have not seen this BBC show do yourself a favor and find it (14 episodes total). That show at it’s core was about a group of 20 somethings that couldn’t really move past their own pop-culture soaked brains, hence the show features a flurry of TV/Movie/Music references that like-minded 20-somethings (like myself) can easily absorb. Pilgrim, judging by the trailer, seems to be following the same path where a man has to overcome adversity in the form of ‘Evil Boyfriends’ to gain a woman’s love, a la defeating levels in a video game in order to save the princess. I’m game. It is based on a series of graphic novels which I have not read, but hear are fantastic.

2. Inception (07/16) – I have zero clue what the hell this movie is about. But I know it’s a thriller with a big budget from director Chris Nolan and shot by Wally Pfister. Frankly, that’s all I really want to know. I assume it’ll be closer to Memento than to The Dark Knight, also a big plus. The supporting cast includes some of my favorite actors Cillian Murphy, Marion Cotillard and Michael Caine. Let’s see what Nolan’s got up his sleeves.

1. Toy Story 3 (06/18) – My favorite movie last summer was Up (“I hid under the porch because I love you”). My favorite the year before that was Wall-E. So, I’ll just go out on a limb that Pixar won’t disappoint with their latest. I hope this is their last sequel, I hope that Randy Newman song isn’t played more than once and Cars proved Pixar is not bullet-proof. But I can’t wait to see this one.

Leave a Reply

Categories

