Posted by: Jeff | December 30, 2009

Music Wednesday, Jeff’s Take

Another James McMurtry song. McMurtry is an Austin local act, and you can currently catch him on Wednesday nights at the Continental Club on South Congress. This also means that Austin’s local used CD store, Cheapo Records, has a lot more of his stuff than you generally find at Amoeba Records here in L.A.

I wasn’t able to catch his performance when I visited for the holidays. (Joe and I will hopefully be seeing him when he comes through L.A. in February.) But I was able to stop into Cheapo and pick up his album Childish Things. The track “Charlemagne’s Home Town” hit me pretty hard. Since McMurtry apparently isn’t big enough for his music to be widely available on YouTube, I figured I’d try something new and just upload the song directly through the audio player. Enjoy.

Leave a Reply

Categories

