Posted by: Joe Eds | December 29, 2009

The Decade: Movie Endings

There are two lead contenders for best ending (scene or sequence), the first is from one of my favorites of the decade Master and Commander: Far Side of the World. The music, the sense of adventure, the ship preparing for battle. I love this movie and I love this ending.

The New World – Upfront, I’ll admit I’m not a huge fan of this film. And not to betray my film school roots, not a big fan of Terrence Malick. But the bookends to this film are extraordinary. The opening is the pilgrims landing on land, the closing is Pocahontas leaving our world, her husband and her son. The music is by Richard Wagner: Vorspiel from Das Rheingold. Elegant and haunting, if only the rest of the film was this good.

The other one that sticks with me is Brokeback Mountain. How carefully Ennis examines Jack’s shirt, the tenderness in how he handles his possessions. Heartbreaking.

Other memorable ones are certainly the shot of Batman on the run in The Dark Knight, Tommy Lee Jones discussing his dream in No Country for Old Men, Clint Eastwood by himself in the cafe in Million Dollar Baby, Ofelia making it to the kingdom in Pan’s Labyrinth, the closing credits of The 40 Year Old Virgin, the long pull back in Juno, Viggo Mortensen returning to the dinner table in A History of Violence and (I’m sure I’ll get an earful from my wife on this one) the closing of Once.

Responses

  1. I’d nominate the final shots of Eastern Promises and The Savages for this category as well.


Leave a Reply

Categories

