Posted by: Joe Eds | September 16, 2009

Most Influential Voices

In the Political world that is. The Atlantic combobulated “the 50 most influential commentators in the nation, the columnists and bloggers and broadcast pundits who shape the national debates.” I’m game.

Here is the list. If you are a political reader, it’s definitely worth a look.

A few reactions (from me):

#1 – Paul Krugman – A brilliant mind that clearly is not in bed with any party.
#2 – Rush Limbaugh – Should be #1. Most influential voice in the media. Period.
#3 – George Will – Many consider him THE “mainstream conservative” voice.
#7 – Glenn Beck – “Sell crazy some place else. We’re all stocked up here.”
#10 – Andrew Sullivan – Our favorite gay-British-Reagan worshiping-Clinton hating-Obama loving-Conservative blogger by far.
#13 – Peggy Noonan – The highest ranked woman on the list. Sad.
#26 – Dick Morris – Well, he’s certainly a dick.
#29 – Josh Marshall – My personal favorite political blogger.
#49 – Ezra Klein – Not bad for being under-30.

AND… I’m sure they didn’t consider Jon Stewart or Stephen Colbert. But if they did. I’d put them in the top five.

UPDATE: Brought to my attention there’s only two non-white individuals on this list (Fareed Zakaria and Eugene Robinson).

Responses

  1. Agreed on Rush Limbaugh. Utterly despicable man, but unquestionably more influential than any other single individual. I like Krugman a lot, but I don’t know by what logic he’s #1.

    Love/hate thing on Ezra Klein. I’d rank him as my personal favorite blogger – I mean, my own posts reference him all the time – but the guy’s like 3 or 4 years younger than I am, which just pisses me off.

    Always glad to see Sullivan get Kudos.

    And may I just say that I can’t stand Peggy Noonan? I really, really can’t. Her comments on the torture issue over the last few months were cheap, self-satisfied and abominable.

    Glad to see Rachel Maddow at #14. I’ll be stumping for Ana Marie Cox to crack the top 50 at some point.


Leave a Reply

Categories

